Five new Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas Announced

28 September, 2015

min read

Údarás na Gaeltachta is seeking applications from organisations that wish to undertake language plans for these Areas

The 5 Language Planning Areas that have been announced are: Oileáin Árainn, County Galway; Ráth Chairn and Baile an Ghib, County Meath, Maigh Eo Thuaidh (Iorrais); Tuaisceart Dhún na nGall (Fánaid, Ros Goill and Na Dúnaibh), and Toraigh, County Donegal. Údarás na Gaeltachta invites applications from organisations and community groups in these areas to act as Lead-Organisations.
Steve Ó Cúláin, Chief Executive of an tÚdarás said, “13 Lead-organisations have already begun work on language plans in 13 Language Planning Areas. Five new Areas have now been announced by the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and Údarás is seeking applications from organisations/committees interested in participating in the language planning process in these areas.”
The deadline for applications is 20 September 2015. Information sessions will be held by Údarás in each of the areas over the coming weeks. Further information is available below;