New Board appointed to Údarás na Gaeltachta

22 November, 2012

min read

The chief executive Steve Ó Cúláin and employees of Údarás na Gaeltachta welcome the appointment of the new Údarás na Gaeltachta Board, made by the Minister of State for the Gaeltacht, Dinny McGinley T.D., today.

Údarás management and employees look forward to working with the new Board to achieve its objectives of preserving and maintaining the Irish language as the main language of the Gaeltacht community, fostering enterprise development and job creation initiatives, in addition to the provision of social and cultural development schemes aimed at sustaining and strengthening Gaeltacht communities. Údarás management expect to meet with the new Board before Christmas.

The chief executive and employees of Údarás would like to thank the former Chairman, Liam Ó Cuinneagáin and former Board members for their commitment and co-operation over the years in the implementation of the organisations objectives.

Statement issued by the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht:

Minister of State McGinley announces the new board of Údarás na Gaeltachta

Minister of State at the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Dinny McGinley T.D., has announced the new board of Údarás na Gaeltachta today (20 November 2012). Anna Ní Ghallchóir, Director of the Languages Centre in the National University of Ireland, Maynooth, has been appointed as Chairperson of the board along with ten other members.

Four members were appointed on foot of nominations by County Councils that have a Gaeltacht area within their jurisdiction. The nomination of Donegal County Council has not been ratified pending the outcome of enquiries regarding certain allegations that have been made.

The Minister of State said that he was pleased to announce the appointments and that he is confident that the new board of Údarás na Gaeltachta will undertake their duties with diligence. “While Údarás na Gaeltachta undoubtedly faces challenging times ahead, I am confident that the ability, experience and wide range of skills of all the board members will greatly benefit both Údarás na Gaeltachta and the Gaeltacht community in the coming years,” the Minister said.

The Minister of State thanked the previous board members of Údarás na Gaeltachta and he congratulated them for the outcomes achieved by the Údarás as a result of their initiative and diligence.

Members of new board of Údarás na Gaeltachta

Anna Ní Ghallchóir (Chairperson)
Director, Languages Centre, National University of Ireland, Maynooth. Originally from Árainn Mhór, Co. Donegal.

Seán Ó Cuireán
From An Fál Carrach, Co. Donegal. Solicitor and manager of Donegal volunteer centre.

Cathal Seoighe
From Doire Longáin, Áth Buí, Co. Meath. Former member of Údarás na Gaeltachta. Nominated by Meath County Council.

Dairíona Nic an Iomaire
Principal of Gaelscoil Mhic Amhlaigh in Cnoc na Cathrach, Galway. Originally from Ceantar na nOileán in Connemara.

Eunan Mac Cuinneagáin
Regional Manager of WESTBIC in Cill Charthaigh, Co. Donegal. From An Charraig, Co. Donegal.

Fiachra Ó Ceilleachair
From An Rinn, Co. Waterford. Former member of Údarás na Gaeltachta. Executive with the Health Service Executive. Former member of Waterford County Council and Dungarvan Town Council.

Ian Mac Aindriú
From Béal an Mhuirthead, Co. Mayo. Former member of Údarás na Gaeltachta. Nominated by Mayo County Council.

Micheál Ó Scanaill
From Baile Bhuirne, Co. Cork. Businessman and former school teacher. Former member of Údarás na Gaeltachta.

Pádraig Ó hAinifín
From An Daingean, Co. Kerry. Businessman.

Séamus Cosaí Mac Gearailt
From Na Gleannta, An Daingean, Co. Kerry. County Councillor and former member of Údarás na Gaeltachta. Nominated by Kerry County Council.

Seosamh Ó Laoi
From An Spidéal, Co. Galway. County Councillor. Nominated by Galway County Council.