Gaeltacht Service Towns

Béal an Mhuirthead (Griangraf ó Belmullet Festival ó

The following towns have been selected as possible Gaeltacht Service Towns (within and outside the Gaeltacht) conditional on language plans being agreed with the communities of the various towns in accordance with the prescribed language planning criteria under the Gaeltacht Act, 2012.

A Gaeltacht Service Town is a town located in or adjacent to a Gaeltacht Language Planning Area which plays a vital role in the provision of public services, recreational, social and commercial amenities to the public in those areas. Under the Act, the town must have a population of 1,000 people, as per the latest census, in order for it to be considered a Gaeltacht Service Town.

Donegal: Leitir Ceanainn, An Clochán Liath and Dún na nGall

Mayo: Béal an Mhuirthead (in the Gaeltacht), Baile an Róba and Caisleán an Bharraigh

Galway: Cathair na Gaillimhe and An Clochán

Kerry: Daingean Uí Chúis (in the Gaeltacht), Trá Lí and Cathair Saidhbhín

Cork: Cathair Chorcaí and Maigh Chromtha

Waterford: Dún Garbhán

Meath: Baile Átha Buí and An Uaimh